Auditions

Thunder River Theatre Company seeks actors for Sarah Ruhl's surrealist romantic comedy, "Dead Man's Cell Phone," directed by Corey Simpson. The piece explores the modern paradox of technology's ability to both unite and isolate people in the digital age and received the Helen Hayes award for Outstanding New Play.

AUDITIONS

Friday, July 14, 2017 / 6:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 15, 2017 / 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Callbacks, if needed, Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 6:30 p.m.

Please email Murray Johnson - murray.johnson7@gmail.com - to request an audition time, script and readings.

SYNOPSIS

A man silently passes away while seated at a cafe. His cell phone rings. Incessantly. A stranger at the next table, Jean, discovers the man's demise, and as she begins answering the calls, she becomes entangled in the history, complexity and relationships of the dead stranger's life. Thus begins her odyssey of a woman forced to confront her own assumptions about morality, redemption and the need to connect in a technologically obsessed world.

Visit Wikipedia to read the complete entry about Dead Man's Cell Phone >

CHARACTERS
JEAN - a woman
GORDON - a dead man
MRS. GOTTLIEB - Gordon's mother
HERMIA - Gordon's Widow
DWIGHT - Gordon's brother
THE OTHER WOMAN/THE STRANGER - Other Woman is Gordon's mistress. The Stranger has an unidentifiable eastern European accent.

REVIEWS of "Dead Man's Cell Phone"

"Satire is her oxygen. . . . In her new oddball comedy, Dead Man's Cell Phone, Sarah Ruhl is forever vital in her lyrical and biting takes on how we behave." - The Washington Post

"Ruhl's zany probe of the razor-thin line between life and death delivers a fresh and humorous look at the times we live in." - Variety

"...beguiling new comedy...Ms. Ruhl's work blends the mundane and the metaphysical, the blunt and the obscure, the patently bizarre and the bizarrely moving." - New York Times

REHEARSAL DETAILS

Initial Read-Through Monday, August 14
Rehearsals begin April 21. Generally 5 rehearsals per week, mix of weekday evenings (6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.) and/or weekend days/evenings - based on cast availability.

PERFORMANCES

Performances run Sept 28 through Oct 15, 2017.
Thu, Sept 28 (Preview)
Fri, Sept 29 (Opening)
Sat, Sept 30
Fri, Oct 6
Sat, Oct 7
Sun, Oct 8 (Matinee)
Thu, Oct 12
Fri, Oct 13
Sat, Oct 14 (Closing)
Sun, Oct 15 (Strike/Cast Party)

All performances 7:30 p.m. except matinee at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, Oct 8.

All actors receive a paid stipend.

Please email Murray Johnson - murray.johnson7@gmail.com - to request an audition time, script and readings.